Make herbs and borders while the sun shines


I’m taking liberties today with an old expression about Hay.  Make hay while the sun shines means to take advantage of something, which is what this article is all about today.

Second to cooking, I love gardening. But… I hate weeding. So anything I can plant that replaces weeds and fills my attempt at a cottage garden is goodness.

Another thing I love to grow is herbs which compliments my cooking habit. Herbs love to grow and love it when you prune them.  The more you prune, the more you get.  And they fill in the spots weeds take.

Watching a Barefoot Contessa show, i saw she used chives as a border for her garden. Whoa – what a great idea.  Immediately (well about 2 weeks later) I went and bought a bunch of chives and planted a border.  The photo to the right is now 3 years into this and they are still growing strong and are lovely. Who knew chives made such pretty flowers – which are also edible.

Along with chives, I have cilantro that doesn’t think it’s supposed to die in the winter. It reseeds itself and pops up in the spring along with my asparagus.  Spring is not just about tulips and daffodils – it’s also herbs and food too.

My mission now is to fill in all the spots in my garden, not with annuals, but rather with herb perennials.  Which I can go cut any time. And they are not weeds.

Yay!

P.S. be careful if you decide to do this with mint. Unless you really like mint. A lot. I mean a lot.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.