Homemade Hot cross bunsI love hot cross buns.  This year I decided to make some and couldn’t find my recipe so I went out on Google.  I found a nice one by the Pioneer Woman.  I included a link to her blog article below.  Here’s what mine ended as – I always nudge a recipe in a little different direction.  This was no exception.

However, while doing my recipe research I found a wealth of information about the mystique of hot cross buns.  Who knew sailors would carry one on board a ship to ensure a safe passage.  Hanging one in your kitchen would guarantee that all your breads would rise.

Old English folklore says if you bake and serve them on Good Friday they will stay good all year and not mold.  I made mine on Easter Sunday because that’s what we always did.  And no, they didn’t last.  But it wasn’t because of a mystical reason – it was because they were warm and soft and yummy.  Duh.

If you shared a bun, it was good luck.  My grandmother used to say “Half for you and half for me, Between us two shall goodwill be“.  Now I know why.  Her grandmother had said it to her and who knows how far back this tradition went on.

In England there are poems and songs surrounding hot cross buns.  A lot of my heritage is based around the UK so I’m not surprised they are an important part of my upbringing.  Somewhere I remember her saying one half penny two half penny which I believe was the price of the buns.  I’ll have to ask my British friends the next time I talk to them.  Still I wonder where these traditions came from.  Some of them are quite powerful.  But the people that remember are long gone.

We as a people now do such a lousy job of retaining our cultural histories.  We forget why we do things – we just know that’s what you do.  Nobody asks why.  Well, actually that’s not true.  I ask why.  My sons used to ask why.  Boy, I wish I had had access to Google back when they were growing up – I would have been the information ninja.  A client of  mine called me that one day and I loved it.  I need to figure out how to put that on a bio somewhere.

No matter your religion, these buns are wonderful.  I posted a copy on my Facebook page and a friend of mine said “even Jews would like these buns.”  True indeed.  Now I am asking myself why wait until Easter to make these (besides the “they are fattening you dope” question.  My mother in law would only eat them around Easter time – and it wasn’t because that was the only time they showed up.  You weren’t supposed to eat them – can’t figure out why.  That goes back to the lost cultural history thing.

That’s it for now.  I’ve been busy posting on my business blog (http://www.egenconsulting.com/patricia-egen-consulting-blog.html) and neglecting my favorite one – talking about food and being southern and doing neat things.  A friend of mine said you haven’t posted recently – go get at it.  Well, Nancy, here you go.

Ciao y’all.

Link to the Pioneer Woman recipe:

http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2010/04/hot-cross-buns/

