One of my favorite things about the holidays is cooking.  We have lots of traditions, like making sure there is eggnog to drink while we are cooking.  It’s funny how you notice those things when they are missing.  You go – oh durn, where’s the eggnog.

My grandmother always made what she called Crescent cookies – which we turned into balls, not crescents. Powered sugar, ground pecans, melt in your mouth cookies. My mom makes her Scottish Shortbreads. Heck it’s not Christmas until we have them.

I make my Barcardi Rum cake, but use Myers Rum instead.  I suppose that’s against the rules – but the rum is so much richer and works better in the cake.

It’s fun to add traditions to the list.  My daughter-in-law’s family make tamales which I need to do one day soon.  And my husband’s family does the pork chops and sauerkraut for New Years day.  Seems chickens scratch backwards and pigs root forward, so you need to eat pork to go forward into the new year.  Hm, I think I wrote about this last year.

The main thing I did this year different was to make a cheese ball recipe I haven’t made for over 30 years.  I used to make this a lot when I was first married eons ago.  I had forgotten how good it was.  I tweeted about it today and several people said – ‘hm that sounds good’ – so here’s the recipe.

4 (3 oz.) pkgs. cream cheese
6 oz. blue cheese, soft
6 oz. Cheddar cheese spread
2 tbsp. grated onion
1 tsp. Worcestershire sauce
1 c. ground pecans or 1/2 c. finely chopped parsley

Combine cheeses, onion and Worcestershire sauce. Beat until well blended. Stir in 1/2 cup pecans, 1/4 cup parsley – shape into ball, wrap in plastic wrap, then foil. Refrigerate overnight. About 1 hour before serving, roll in remaining nuts or parsley. Place on dish and surround with crackers.

Warning, this is addictive. People tend to hover around it like it was a chocolate fondue or something. If you want any, grab your crackers and spread and run for the hills.

Well, that’s it for today. Happy holidays, y’all.

