I went back thru my archives and realized I had not posted about my pulled pork.  Drat. I thought I had done that.  What I did do is post a Youtube video – actually a very basic, somewhat boring one – that was a Powerpoint/Photos of my pulled pork process.

Several years ago, I went out to Google, my “now” favorite recipe place looking for pulled pork recipes.  I stumbled on one that was more of an epic discussion rather than a recipe.  I’m searching everywhere to see if I can find the original link so I can give credit to it in one of my blogs.

The basics of the recipe are this – cooking the pork, with no seasonings on it whatsover, slowly over charcoals.  It’s what you put in the coals that makes this dish.  The recipe called for 8 heads of garlic – that’s heads, not cloves.  You place them directly on the coals during the course of cooking the pork.  The pork is cooked to the side, ie not directly over the coals so it’s more of a smoking process than a grilling one.   I always use Pork butts for my recipes.  Two nice sized butts can and has fed 25 people two sandwiches each.  Even the people who said they only wanted one sandwich ate two – this recipe is that good.

What I did to kick it up a notch was two things.  I use wood from my apple tree and during certain times of the year, when I can get green leaves from the tree, I add them as well.  The greener the better as they make lots of fragrent smoke.  Then, I take hickory chips and soak them in Jack Daniels.  Again, this makes fragrent smoke.

Finally, after the pork has reached 160 degrees internally, I take it off the fire, put it in a dutch oven, cover the  bottom of the pan with 1/4 inch of apple cider vinegar, put on the top, and bake it one more hour at 350 degrees.  After I remove the butts from the pots, I make my sauce using the cider in the bottom.  I add tomato sauce, brown sugar and worchestershire sauce for the nice sweet/sour taste.  I put the sauce in a bottle in case people want to add it themselves.  The pork itself is so flavorful, you really don’t need the sauce so that’s why I always serve it on the side.

All that’s left is the pulling and making the coleslaw. Oh, yes, to be official, there has to be coleslaw.

A group of us were sitting around the table a while ago talking about barbeque and all the variations and differences.  It’s amazing how broad it is.  For sure, if it’s Pig, it’s East coast and southern.  If it’s beef, it’s Texas and parts west.  If you are in the UK, it’s a verb not a noun.  And not everyone puts coleslaw on their pulled pork.  That appears to be focused in the North Carolina area but other states have gratiously adopted the recipe as well.

As usual, I did some digging in Google to try to find out origins of recipes and to find out why Pig versus Beef was the way it was.  I stumbled on several articles that said long ago, settlers brought hogs to the south and released them into the wild.  They multipled where cattle didn’t survive.  As a result, pig  became a southern staple.  Interesting.  I haven’t stumbled on when coleslaw started getting added but it’s out there for sure when you research pulled pork recipes.

Well, that’s it for now.

Ciao, y’all

